

STANDARDS COMMITTEE SPECIAL MINUTES

22 APRIL 2010

Chairman:	* Ms Sheila Darr (In the Chair)	
Councillors:	 * Husain Akhtar * Mrs Lurline Champagnie * B E Gate * Joyce Nickolay 	Asad Omar Mark Versallion
Independent Persons:	Mr M Rizvi	Dr J Kirkland
In attendance: (Councillors)	* Paul Osborn	

* Denotes Member present

141. Appointment of Chairman

RESOLVED: That Ms Sheila Darr be appointed as Chairman of the Committee for the purposes of this meeting.

142. Attendance by Reserve Members

RESOLVED: To note that there were no Reserve Members in attendance:-

143. Declarations of Interest

RESOLVED: To note that there were no declarations.

144. Minutes

RESOLVED: That the minutes of the meeting held on 8 December 2009 be deferred until the next ordinary meeting of the Committee.

145. Deputations

RESOLVED: To note that there were no deputations

RECOMMENDED ITEMS

146. Appointment of Independent Members to the Standards Committee

The Chairman of the Selection Panel introduced the report and explained that 22 applications for the posts had been received. A Member of the Committee, who was also a Member of the Selection Panel, commented that the Panel were confident that 5 good candidates had been selected.

Resolved to RECOMMEND: (to Council) That

- (1) the appointments of Dr John Kirkland, Mohammed Rizvi, Derek John Lawrence and Anand Mantri as Independent Members of the Standards Committee from 25 May 2010 until the Annual Council meeting in May 2014, be approved;
- (2) the appointment of James Coyle as a Reserve Independent Member of the Standards Committee from 25 May 2010 until the Annual Council meeting in May 2014, be approved.

RESOLVED ITEMS

147. Vote of Thanks

The Committee noted with sadness, the resignation of the Chairman, Bishop Pete Broadbent. Members took the opportunity to thank Bishop Broadbent and Sheila Darr for their services to the Committee and wished them both well for the future.

(Note: The meeting, having commenced at 7.37 pm, closed at 7.45 pm).

(Signed) MS SHEILA DARR Chairman